A venue fit for a king! It was a fantastic evening, they had arranged it all perfectly. I am gobsmacked and over the moon all at once!
— H.M. Castor, Author

Thursday 20th September, 7pm at Warwick Books

Lying To You by Amanda Reynolds

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Book essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net

 

You think you know the truth, but what if your husband is LYING TO YOU? When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter's student, she made a shocking accusation. Mark maintained his innocence, but the damage was done. Karen Winter stood by her husband through everything, determined to protect her family.

Now, ten years later, Jess is back. And the truth about that night is finally going to come out . . .

A gripping drama with dark twists and turns, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, Anatomy of a Scandal, and Doctor Foster.

'GRIPPING and TWISTY' Laura Marshall, No.1 bestselling author of FRIEND REQUEST
'COMPULSIVELY READABLE' Kate Hamer, author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT

Amanda Reynolds is a Creative Writing teacher based in the north Cotswolds. She is passionate about her craft and so keen to support independent booksellers

 

Thursday 11th October, 7pm at Warwick Books. 

Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Book essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net

 

 It’s summer in Northumberland, and seventeen-year-old Silvie is stuck in an experimental archaeology camp with her difficult father, who has nationalist sympathies, her cowed mother, a Professor from a university down South, and some of his students. They mimic the harshness of Iron Age life, and all mod cons are disallowed. Hovering over the narrative, and bound to the history of the site, is the story of a bog girl sacrificed by her people millennia before. With levels of complexity, Sarah’s trademark frankness and a cast of characters to rival the best British dramas, this is a story about how we came to be where we are today.

Sarah Moss, a regular on literary prize lists, lives in Coventry and is a professor at Warwick University.

 

Thursday 15th November, 7pm at Warwick Books (May move to a larger venue tbc)

ASH by Archie Miles

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Book essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net

 

Archie Miles, Renowned tree writer and photographer, and Woodland Heritage member,  has been inspired to create a beautiful illustrated monograph about our ash trees before ash dieback and the almost certain arrival of emerald ash borer in the near future erase the vast majority of them from the British landscape.

Archie was motivated to compile a comprehensive study of the ash when he reflected upon how little was done to record the great elms in the landscape before the devastating effects of Dutch elm disease some fifty years ago. Three years ago he set out to find the funding to make the book a reality and with support from Woodland Trust and the Association of AONBs this has now been made possible.

 

 

 Thursday 22nd November, 7pm at Warwick Hall, Myton Rd.

In The Mouth of the Wolf by Michael Morpurgo

Tickets £5, must be booked in advance.  All proceeds will go towards Michael's charity of choice, Farms For City Children.

Book essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net

 

In the Mouth of the Wolf is the epic, true story of Michael Morpurgo’s uncles during World War Two. The book will feature 100 pieces of artwork from Barroux, including illustrations inspired by Morpurgo’s family photographs. It is an incredible true story of courage and love during World War II.

In the Mouth of the Wolf will follow two brothers; one an actor and airman and one a secret agent and teacher. As the shadow of one war lingers, and the rumbles of another approach, brothers Francis and Pieter argue. Francis is a pacifist and conscientious objector, while Pieter signs up to fight. What happens next will change the course of Francis’s life forever, and throw him into the mouth of the wolf.

Michael Morpurgo has links to Warwick and we are delighted to welcome him to talk about this poignant book. He said ‘The story of these two uncles affected my life profoundly. I felt the time had come to tell their story. It is, in a way, the most personal book I have ever written. This book may read like fiction. But it is not. That is because it does not need to be.’

 

We are delighted to host a rich series of literary events in and around Warwick. These include our popular 'Meet the author' events. The talks usually last about an hour, followed by questions, and then there is an opportunity to meet the speaker and have a book signed. Previous authors Melvyn Bragg, Jodi Picoult, Kate Williams, Professor Edith Hall and Dr Elizabeth Goldring. These events take place across Warwick including the beautiful Lord Leycester Hospital. We also support Warwick Words Festival. Read about our previous events in our blog.

Refreshments provided by local independent businesses are served at all of our events!

Huge thanks for a fab event yesterday!
— Warwickshire Schools Library Service