A venue fit for a king! It was a fantastic evening, they had arranged it all perfectly. I am gobsmacked and over the moon all at once!
— H.M. Castor, Author

 Saturday 13th April, 10.30m at Warwick Books

 That’s Not My… 20th Birthday Party

A FREE event for Toddlers and their Grown- Ups!

Booking essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net 

Come and join us for a story time adventure in the shop to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the publication of ‘That’s Not My Puppy’ and the birth of the very popular first book series. 

Tuesday 16th April, free signings at Warwick Books (Times TBC)

 Things in Jars by Jess Kidd and The Conviction of Cora Burns by Carolyn Kirby  

 Things in Jars by Jess Kidd **Pre Order Signed Copies of Things in Jars £10**

Come and meet author Jess Kidd who'll be dropping in to sign her latest book published. We love Jess's last two books 'Himself' and 'The Hoarder' and are excited to have the opportunity to get stock signed for our customers. Please contact us if you'd like any signed books and if you can drop into the shop to meet and chat to Jess yourself.

The Conviction of Cora Burns by Carolyn Kirby   **Order a signed copy £10***

Set in 1880s Birmingham, Carolyn Kirby’s stunning debut The Conviction of Cora Burns tells the story of Cora, a young woman born in a prison to a convicted criminal she never knew but from whom she fears she has inherited a violent nature. Perfect for fans of Sarah Schmidt, Anna Mazzola and Hannah Kent. With the power and intrigue of Laura Purcell’s The Silent Companions and Sarah Schmidt’s See What I Have Done, Carolyn Kirby’s stunning debut takes the reader on a heart-breaking journey through Victorian Birmingham and questions where we first learn violence: from our scars or from our hearts.

Wednesday 24th April, 7pm at Warwick Books

An Evening with C.J. Tudor & Gytha Lodge

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Booking essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net 

The Taking of Annie Thorne by C.J.Tudor

It arrived in my inbox just over a month ago. Surprising, really, that it didn't get shunted straight into junk. Sender: MSG@hotmail.com Subject: Annie 'I know what happened to your sister. It's happening again.' Because when my sister was eight years old, she disappeared. At the time, I thought it was the worst thing that could ever happen. And then she came back . . .

C. J. Tudor's love of writing, especially the dark and macabre, started young. When her peers were reading Judy Blume, she was devouring Stephen King and James Herbert. Her first novel, The Chalk Man, was a bestseller in both hardback and paperback and sold in thirty-nine territories.


She Lies in Wait by Gytha Lodge

On a hot July night in 1983, six school friends go camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and young Aurora Jackson is dazzled to be allowed to tag along. Thirty years later, a body is discovered. DCI Sheens is called to the scene, but he already knows what's waiting for him: Aurora Jackson, found at long last. But that's not all. The friends have all maintained their innocence, but the body is found in a hideaway only the six of them knew about. It seems the killer has always lurked very close to home...

Gytha Lodge is a writer and multi-award-winning playwright who lives in Cambridge. After studying creative writing at UEA, she was shortlisted for the Yeovil Literary Prize and the Arts' Council England fiction awards, and developed a huge online following for her young adult and children's writing, She Lies in Wait is her debut novel.

 

 

Friday 10th May, 7pm at Warwick Books

 The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Booking essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net 

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. On the way, Nuri is sustained by the knowledge that waiting for them is Mustafa, his cousin and business partner, who has started an apiary and is teaching fellow refugees in Yorkshire to keep bees. 

As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again.

Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is the novel that will put human faces on the Syrian war for American readers. It brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways. Immigrant stories and stories of compassion are essential right now and here is a novel that answer that call: showing the triumph of the human spirit--and of love--when the world becomes unrecognisable.



Tuesday 21st May, 7pm at Warwick Books

The Lost Letters of William Woolf by Helen Cullen 

Tickets £5 including refreshments

Booking essential at Warwick Books 01926 499939 or info@warwickbooks.net 

 

Inside East London's Dead Letters Depot, William Woolf unites lost mail with its intended recipient. White mice, a miniature grandfather clock and a full suit of armour are among the more unusual items lost then found thanks to William's detective work. But when he discovers a series of letters addressed only to 'My Great Love', everything changes. Written by Winter to a soul mate she hasn't yet met, her heartfelt words stir William in ways he has long forgotten. Could they be destined for him? But what about his troubled marriage? William must follow the clues in Winter's letters to solve the mystery of his own heart.

Helen Cullen is an Irish writer living in London. She worked at RTE (Ireland’s national broadcaster) for seven years before moving to London in 2010. In the UK, Helen established a career as an events and engagement specialist before joining the Google UK marketing team in 2015. Her debut novel, ‘The Lost Letters of William Woolf’ was published by Penguin in July 2018 in the UK, Ireland, Australia and South Africa. It will be published in America by Harper Collins in June 2019 and has sold in translation to numerous foreign markets including Italy, Germany, Russia, Greece and Israel where it hit the bestseller charts in August. The TV option for the book has also been acquired by Mainstreet Pictures. 

The first draft of this novel was written while completing the Guardian/UEA novel writing programme under the mentorship of Michèle Roberts. Helen holds an M.A. Theatre Studies from UCD and is currently completing an M.A. English Literature at Brunel University. Helen was nominated as Best Newcomer in the An Post Irish Book Awards 2018. Helen is now writing full-time and working on her second novel. She is also a contributor to the Irish Times newspaper and Sunday Times Magazine.

We are delighted to host a rich series of literary events in and around Warwick. These include our popular 'Meet the author' events. The talks usually last about an hour, followed by questions, and then there is an opportunity to meet the speaker and have a book signed. Previous authors Melvyn Bragg, Jodi Picoult, Kate Williams, Professor Edith Hall and Dr Elizabeth Goldring. These events take place across Warwick including the beautiful Lord Leycester Hospital. We also support Warwick Words Festival. Read about our previous events in our blog.

Refreshments provided by local independent businesses are served at all of our events!

Huge thanks for a fab event yesterday!
— Warwickshire Schools Library Service