A venue fit for a king! It was a fantastic evening, they had arranged it all perfectly. I am gobsmacked and over the moon all at once!
— H.M. Castor, Author

 

 

MICHAEL BROOKS ‘THE QUANTUM ASTROLOGER'S HANDBOOK’

18th October 7pm at Warwick Books

Brooks is the author of bestselling science title 13 Things That Don't Make Sense. In his new book, The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook he resurrects from the vaults of neglect Jerome Cardano, a sixteenth century Milanese mathematician, physician, and astrologer, who may have been the true inventor of probability, quantum theory, imaginary numbers, and more! The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook, like Jerome, has multiple occupations: it is at once a biography, a history of science, an accessible explanation of quantum theory, and an engrossing story which reads like the best kind of novel. It is a science book like no other about a scientist like no other.

Tickets £5 including drinks & nibbles

Liam Brown ‘Broadcast’

26th October 7pm at Warwick Books

It’s in line with recent dystopian hits such as the TV adaptation of The Handmaid’s Tale and relevant with its depiction of a fame hungry blogger agreeing to have a chip implanted to have his every living moment beamed to a worldwide audience, it has been described as Inception meets Black Mirror and the Truman Show for the YouTubegeneration.

Tickets £5 including drinks & nibbles

 

angus donald ‘Blood'S game’

31st October 7pm at Warwick Books

Bestselling author of the Outlaw Chronicles and perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden we are transported into the time after the Tudors the Stewarts! The author himself is a distant relative of our protagonist, Col. Thomas Blood who famously stole the Crown Jewels from the Tower of London in 1671.  The book is set in London during the winter of 1670, Holcroft Blood has entered the employ of the Duke of Buckingham, one of the most powerful men in the kingdom after the king. It is here that his education really begins. With a gift for numbers and decoding ciphers, Holcroft soon proves invaluable to the Duke, but when he's pushed into a betrayal he risks everything for revenge. His father, Colonel Thomas Blood, has fallen on hard times. A man used to fighting, he lives by his wits and survives by whatever means necessary. When he's asked to commit treason by stealing the crown jewels, he puts himself and his family in a dangerous situation - one that may end at the gallows.

Tickets £5 including drinks & nibbles

Elizabeth M Cox ‘Tragedy at Bawley Bay'

2nd November 7pm at Warwick Books

Tragedy at Bawley Bay is a fictional ghost story/Victorian mystery set mainly in and around my home town of Gravesend. The town’s geographical position on the Thames and its historical role as a resort town for Londoners travelling to it by paddle steamer in the nineteenth-century are important aspects that shape the events depicted. The main relationship is a romantic one between two women.

Tickets £5 including drinks & nibbles

KATE YOUNG ‘THE LITTLE LIBRARY COOKBOOK'

5th November 3pm at Oken's Kitchen, Warwick

Paddington Bear's marmalade, a Neopolitan pizza with Elena Ferrante, afternoon tea at Manderley. Here are 100 delicious recipes inspired by cookery writer Kate Young's well stocked bookshelves. From before noon breakfasts and around noon lunchesto family dinners and midnight feasts, The Little Library Cookbook captures the magic and wonder of the meals enjoyed by some of our best-loved fictional characters. The workshop will include a demonstration of a recipe from the book, a chance to get stuck in and create alongside Kate and the time to talk about the food in your favorite books that you are warmly invited to bring along and share with the group.

Tickets £25 including workshop, refreshments and a copy of the book

laia jufresa 'umami'

Translation Slam with Spanish to English translators Sophie Hughes and Rosalind Harvey

Organised with Warwick University's Being Human festival of the humanities supported byHarper Collins Independent Thinking

21st November 7pm at Warwick Books

Translators Ros Harvey and Sophie Hughes will each translate the same passage from one of Laia’s books and discuss their translations with Laia. The translations will be distributed to the audience so that they can join in the discussion.

                          Grant made this event possible - Thank you Harper Collins!

                          Grant made this event possible - Thank you Harper Collins!

FREE - BOOKING ESSENTIAL

SAMUEL LANGLEY - SWAIN 'SANTA'S WISH'

30th November 5pm at Warwick Books

Meet local author Samuel Langley-Swain with his beautiful children’s book Santa's Wish illustrated by Anastasija Pudane during Warwick's Victorian Evening. Samuel will be carrying out story time readings throughout the evening so please drop in to get your signed copy.

FREE

We are delighted to host a rich series of literary events in and around Warwick. These include our popular 'Meet the author' events. The talks usually last about an hour, followed by questions, and then there is an opportunity to meet the speaker and have a book signed. Previous authors Melvyn Bragg, Jodi Picoult, Kate Williams, Professor Edith Hall and Dr Elizabeth Goldring. These events take place across Warwick including the beautiful Lord Leycester Hospital. We also support Warwick Words Festival. Read about our previous events in our blog.

Refreshments provided by local independent businesses are served at all of our events!

Huge thanks for a fab event yesterday!
— Warwickshire Schools Library Service